Disenchantment

Sunday, February 6, 2011

I pulled up to a local bar & she jumped in my taxicab. I asked “how’s your night going?” She said excitedly “I’m glad to get out of there!” The taxi fare continued with her blurting “my roommate just went psycho on me inside that bar!”

I responded “I’m sorry to hear that happened.” As we proceeded she said “and I’m a single lady alone with a male cab driver, I’m scared.” I quickly snapped back with exaggerated stern disenchantment “You’re being dramatic.” After a short pause she laughed and responded “your right, I am being dramatic but you don’t understand, my roommate just went psycho on me in the bar. It’s a side of her I’ve never seen. I was ready to go home and she wasn’t but the bar was closing, I don’t know where she thought she was going to go. She had the only keys to the car and the house and she wouldn’t give them to me. I almost had to fight her to get the keys back but the bouncer helped me. It was frightening with her screaming and yelling at me the whole time calling me every name in the book.”

I asked “has she been under stress recently?” She answered “yes she’s been under allot of stress with her job.” To which I responded “That’s why. When people under stress decide to unwind with ample amounts of alcohol, they don’t want to party to end so they lash out at those who they think are killing the party. In this case she thought you were ending the party.” She said “that makes sense.”

I told her “I’ve seen it many times before. The most colorful and memorable was a drunken man who passed out in the parking lot of a banquet hall after a wedding reception. Some wedding guests who had no idea who he was helped me put him in the back of the taxicab. He passed out on the ride home. When we arrived, his mother wearing a bathrobe and slippers greeted me with a worried look. The look made me nervous.

The guy was passed out in my back seat and I could not wake him up. His mother was able to wake him. The man woke and cursed at his mother. He called her every curse filled name there is. I felt sorry for his mother and apologized to her. She replied that ‘it’s okay, he had done this before. The incident instilled what I already thought about some spoiled mama’s boys.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started